top of page
Search
  • acacia

A deeper exploration into why I chose to use sound

As mentioned before in my 'reflexive thoughts' section of this website, I chose to use sound as a tool to create the environment that I wanted to portray in my film. This was a conscious choice, to prioritise the natural sounds of the environment over interviews, a choice based primarily on the concept of sensory ethnography and soundscapes.A soundscape refers to a combination of sounds that work together to create an acoustic environment , I think the sounds captured by my microphone work well together to create a distinct environment that would be recognisable even if the viewers eyes were closed. I was slightly disappointed in the quality of the sound picked up by the microphone as despite having a windshield on the microphone, i still picked up quite a lot of static. In the future, I may try different types of handheld microphones and see how that works in my filming environment, I should have also done more test shots outside beforehand to see the quality of sound.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page